Recognition and Awards

Wnet recognizes its members who demonstrate excellence in engaging, influencing and championing diversity throughout the payments industry and in their own companies. Wnet members nominate women and men who they believe personify the values recognized by each award. Winners are typically honored at the annual Wnet Leadership Summit and partner events throughout the year. Due to the pandemic, we will announce and celebrate the 2020 winners in a new way – stay tuned!


Award Categories and Criteria

Corporate Diversity Champion Award

The Wnet Diversity Champion Award is the payment industry’s award for recognizing leadership in the areas of inclusion, respect and diversity. Diversity must be part of the corporate culture, and that culture is created and reinforced daily by individual leaders. Therefore, Wnet offers two awards: The Corporate Diversity Champion Award and the Individual Diversity Champion Award. Wnet recognizes organizations and individuals through an ongoing process that includes nomination, application and evaluation. The award recognizes an achieved standard and is not a competition. Learn more about this corporate award.

Individual Diversity Champion Award

The Diversity Champion Award is presented to an individual, from a Wnet Corporate Sponsor, who has exemplified the spirit of diversity through contributions to her organization in the last year. This individual demonstrated leadership in expanding opportunities for women and advances diversity initiatives within her company.

Lean In To Lead Award

The Lean in to Lead Award is given to a Wnet member who has significantly stepped forward to take a leadership role to add ideas, expertise and support that directly supports one of Wnet’s strategic objectives.

Making Waves Award

The Making Waves Award is given to a Wnet member who has made an impact on the industry and demonstrates a commitment to furthering Wnet’s mission by exemplifying outstanding leadership and encouragement to other Wnet members.

Emerging Trendsetter Award

The Emerging Trendsetter Award celebrates a woman 40 years or younger who has a bright future in the payments industry. This individual showcases her commitment and energy to improving the industry.

LinkUp Event of the Year

The Wnet LinkUp Event of the Year Award recognizes our Wnet Chapters and their efforts to provide great local networking events across the US and Canada.

The Game Changer Award

The Game Changer Award is given to a Wnet member who has, through strategic thinking, audacious goal-setting, outstanding leadership, commitment to implementation and attention to the details...moves mountains and doesn’t take “no” for an answer. In doing so, she moves Wnet forward to stand on new ground toward the realization of our mission and vision.

The Advocate Award

The Advocate Award is presented to an Advocate Member who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to gender diversity through his participation in Wnet. This individual is a male leader who exemplifies the mission of Wnet by advocating for women in the industry.

Please visit this page to view the full criteria for each award or submit a nomination. 

Submission Guidelines

Would you like to be considered for a Wnet Award?  Do you know a Wnet member who is deserving of an award?

Submission Guidelines:

  • You may nominate yourself or a colleague.
  • Nominations must include one to two paragraphs describing how the nominee has stood out during the past year in the nomination category. Be sure to include concrete examples of accomplishments.
  • Submit only one nomination per category.

Past Award Winners

View the 2018 Awards Presentation

Corporate Diversity Champion Award

Discover - 2018 at ETA TRANSACT

Individual Diversity Champion Award

Kelly Beatty, Worldpay - 2018

Theresa Gongora, Senior Vice President, Finance, TSYS - 2017

Kim Holmes, System Director, Discover Financial Services - 2017

Lean in to Lead Award

Diane Driscoll, Quality Control Manager, National Merchants Association - 2018

Dawn Delaney, Director, Corporate Partnerships, Chase Payment Tech - 2017

Pam McKinley, US Project Manager, Moneris - 2016

Making Waves Award

Melissa Pauleat, Paysafe - 2018

Christina Camacho, CEO, Current Payment Solutions - 2017

Kristy Richardson, of Chief Operating Officer at US Pay - 2016

Emerging Trendsetter Award

Megan Karubla, Business Leader-Product, Strategy Marketing, Merchant e-Solutions

Amy Aton, HR Manager at Anovia Payments - 2016

Game Changer Award

Linda Perry, Linda S. Perry Consulting - 2018

LinkUp Event of the Year

Montreal - Kick off event on July 24th, 2018